Home / Sportscope / Guiao’s Gilas faces Luzon All-Star tonight

Guiao’s Gilas faces Luzon All-Star tonight

Coach Yeng Guiao of Northern Luzon Expressway will coach Gilas Pilipinas in its battle against Luzon All-Star under coach Leo Austria of San Miguel Beer today in the second leg of the 2018 Philippine Basketball Association All-Star Game at the Batangas City Coliseum.

The game between Luzon’s finest players and Gilas Pilipinas unfolds at 7 p.m.

Various side events, among them the Obstacle Challenge, the Three-point Shootout and the Slam-dunk competition will start at 4 p.m.

Guiao, who coached the Philippine team in 2008, will be the strategist for June Mar Fajardo, Carl Bryan Cruz, Troy Rosario, Mac Belo, Allein Maliksi, Terrence Romeo, Gabe Norwood, Jio Jalalon and Kiefer Ravena.

“It’s been a while since I last coached an all-star team so I can’t even recall the exact year. I’m happy that they made this kind of format. It is also an experience to handle these players,” said Guiao.

“So far, Kiefer is the only player that I know and the rest of Gilas players are going to be unique because this will be my first time to coach most of them.”

Gilas Pilipinas is determined to bounce back from a 130-144 loss to Mindanao on Wednesday in Digos, Davao Del Sur. Baser Amer of the Mindanao team emerged as the Most Valuable Player of the Mindanao leg of the tilt.

Norman Black coached Gilas during the Mindanao leg while Nash Racela will take over as mentor of the national team when the All-Star games travel to Iloilo City on Sunday.

“In terms of employing your system or your style and your culture, it is not going to happen because Gilas has its own system and identity. Coaching the team for one day will not change anything. There’s no major surprises in terms of tactics or strategies,” said Guiao.

“All I have to do is field in these people, or the shuffling of these people for the sake of enjoying the company or enjoying the atmosphere and the crowd.”

Comprising the Luzon team are Austria of Sariaya, Quezon, Japeth Aguilar, Calvin Abueva, LA Tenorio, Raymond Almazan, Stanley Pringle, Jayson Castro, Paul Lee, Ian Sangalang, Arwind Santos, Marcio Lassiter, Alex Cabagnot and Matthew Wright.

Prior to the game, Paul Asi Taulava, Sonny Thoss, Raymond Aguilar, JP Erram, Kelly Nabong, Russel Escoto, Ken Bono, Justin Chua, Aldrech Ramos, Beau Belga, Gabby Espinas and Yousef Taha will compete in the Obstacle Challenge.

Meanwhile, Blackwater’s Allein Maliksi will defend his three-point shootout title against James Yap, Terrence Romeo, Jayvee Casio, Matthew Wright, Marcio Lassiter, Paul Lee, Larry Fonacier, LA Tenorio, Ronald Tubid and KG Canaleta.

Seeing action in the slam-dunk competition are defending champion Chris Newsome of Meralco, Matt Rosser-Ganuelas, Renz Palma, Marion Magat, Lervin Flores and former champion Rey Guevarra.

Check Also

Aces deal Hotshots worst beating in Game 2 of finals

The Alaska Aces found an unlikely hero in dealing Magnolia Hotshots and the Purefoods franchise …