Home / Headline / Grounding of 737 MAX planes now worldwide

Grounding of 737 MAX planes now worldwide

March 15, 2019

WASHINGTON, D.C.: The ban on the Boeing 737 MAX aircraft became worldwide on Wednesday (Thursday in Manila) after US President Donald Trump joined Canada and other countries in grounding the aircraft, as the black box flight recorders from the doomed plane were flown to France for analysis on Thursday.

US authorities said that new evidence showed similarities between Sunday’s deadly crash of an Ethiopian Airlines Boeing 737 MAX 8 and a fatal accident in Indonesia in October. The weekend crash killed all 157 people aboard.

The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) said Wednesday that findings from the crash site near Addis Ababa and “newly refined satellite data” warranted “further investigation of the possibility of a shared cause for the two incidents.”

Phoenix, Arizona, U.S.: A group of Southwest Airlines Boeing 737 MAX 8 aircraft sit on the tarmac at Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport on March 13, 2019 in Phoenix, Arizona. The United States has followed countries around the world and has grounded all Boeing 737 Max 8 aircraft following the crash of an Ethiopia Airlines 737 Max 8. AFP PHOTO

An FAA emergency order grounded 737 MAX 8 and MAX 9 aircraft until further notice.

Trump told reporters at the White House the “safety of the American people and all peoples is our paramount concern.”

Canada grounded the world’s third largest fleet of Boeing 737 MAX 8 jetliners, or 41 planes operated by three Canadian carriers, and banned the aircraft from its airspace Wednesday.

“As a result of new data that we received this morning, and had the chance to analyze, and on the advice of my experts and as a precautionary measure, I issued a safety notice,” Transport Minister Marc Garneau told reporters.

“This safety notice restricts commercial passenger flights from any operator of the Boeing 737 MAX 8 or MAX 9 variant aircraft, whether domestic or foreign, from arriving, departing or overflying Canadian air space.

“This safety notice is effective immediately and will remain in place until further notice.”

Here is a round-up of countries that have banned the 737 MAX:

In Africa – Namibia and Nigeria; in Asia-Pacific – Australia, China, India, Indonesia, Kazakhstan, Malaysia, and New Zealand; in the Middle East – Egypt, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, and United Arab Emirates — including major hub Dubai; in North America – Canada, and the United States; in Europe — all European Union countries and Serbia.

Airlines that have banned the 737 MAX are Aerolineas Argentinas, Aeromexico, Cayman Airways, Comair (South Africa), Eastar Jet (South Korea), Ethiopian Airlines, Gol Airlines (Brazil), Icelandair,

MIAT Mongolian Airlines, Norwegian Air Shuttle, and S7 (Russia).


Credit belongs to : www.manilatimes.net


‘I don’t do cover-ups’: Trump’s threat to refuse policy talks could move him closer to impeachment

World·Analysis U.S. President Donald Trump's attempts to stonewall Democratic investigations against him entered a new …