Thursday , September 19 2019
Home / Philippine News / 4 new CA magistrates sworn in

4 new CA magistrates sworn in

July 11, 2019

FOUR new magistrates of the Court of Appeals (CA) took their oath in the Supreme Court on Wednesday.

The four justices are Alfredo Ampuan, Lily Biton, Angelene Quimpo-Sale and Carlito Calpatura.

Justices Carlito Calpatura, Alfredo Ampuan and Angeline Quimpo-Sale take their oath before Chief Justice Lucas Bersamin. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

Executive Secretary Salvador Medialdea transmitted their appointment papers on Tuesday to the office of Chief Justice Lucas Bersamin.

Bersamin administered the oath to Ampuan, Quimpo-Sale and Calpatura. Biton was sworn in by Associate Justice Diosdado Peralta.

The new CA justices will be assigned in Cebu and Cagayan de Oro, representing the Visayas and Mindanao, respectively.

The CA has 69 justices, with 17 divisions in Manila, three in Cebu and three in Cagayan de Oro.

President Rodrigo Duterte appointed the justices upon the recommendation of the Judicial and Bar Council (JBC). The JBC is constitutionally mandated to screen and vet nominees to the president for vacant posts in the judiciary and the Offices of the Ombudsman and Deputy Ombudsman.

Credit belongs to :


Passenger train flips in Hong Kong, 8 hurt

By ASSOCIATED PRESS September 18, 2019 HONG KONG: A passenger train derailed during the morning …