Home / Community Roundup / Margaret Atwood: An author’s timeline

Margaret Atwood: An author’s timeline

September 15, 2019

Canadian author Margaret Atwood speaks during a press conference at the British Library to launch her new book “The Testaments” in London on Sept. 10, 2019. (AP Photo)

PARIS: Here are key dates in the life and career of award-winning Canadian novelist Margaret Atwood, whose The Testaments, the long-awaited sequel to her hugely successful dystopian novel The Handmaid’s Tale, was released on Tuesday.

Nov. 18, 1939: Born in Ottawa to a forest entomologist-father and nutritionist-mother.

1961: Graduated from the University of Toronto with a degree in English. The following year, she completes a Masters degree at Harvard-linked Radcliffe College, in the eastern US city of Boston.

1969: Published her first novel The Edible Woman, a satire about a young woman unable to eat after getting married.

1973: Atwood ended her five-year marriage to writer Jim Polk and began a relationship with fellow novelist Graeme Gibson, with whom she had her only child, Eleanor Jess Atwood Gibson (born 1976).

1985: Published The Handmaid’s Tale, which has become a feminist classic, about a totalitarian society of the future. It is later adapted into a film, cult television series and opera.

1996: Released her historical novel Alias Grace, which was also adapted for television, airing on CBC and Netflix.

2000: Won Britain’s top literary award, the Booker Prize, for The Blind Assassin, published the same year.

2017: US television streaming group Hulu airs the first “Handmaid’s Tale” series, which wins a host of top awards. A fourth series was announced in July 2019

Sept. 10, 2019: Released The Testaments.

Credit belongs to : www.manilatimes.net


Van Gogh comes ‘Alive’ in Manila

By THE MANILA TIMES October 13, 2019 Since the announcement that “Van Gogh Alive” is …