Home / Philippine News / LIST: Active volcanoes in the Philippines

LIST: Active volcanoes in the Philippines

This Jan. 13, 2020 photo shows a view of Taal Volcano from Laurel, Batangas.

MANILA, Philippines — The Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology said there are a total of 24 active volcanoes in the Philippines.

According to Phivolcs, there are several volcanoes because “it sits on a unique tectonic setting ideal to volcanism and earthquake activity.”

“It is situated at the boundaries of two tectonic plates – the Philippine Sea Plate and the Eurasian plate – both of which subduct or dive beneath the archipelago along the deep trenches along its east and west seaboard,” Phivolcs said.

The institute said that 24 of which erupted within historical times within the last 600 years.

“Accounts of these eruptions were documented by man erupted within the last 10,000 years based on the analyses of material from young volcanic deposits,” it said.

A February 2018 study titled “A synthesis and review of historical eruptions of Taal Volcano, Southern, Philippines,” also revealed that Taal Volcano, which erupted last Sunday, is the second most frequently erupting volcano of the 24 active volcanoes in the country.

The study was penned by Perla Delos Reyes, Ma. Antonio Bornas, Dale Dominey-Howes, Abigail Pidlaoan, Christina Maglil and Phivolcs Director Renato Solidum.

It added that among the known eruptions of Taal Volcano were recorded from AD1572 (the first known historic event) to AD1977.

Here’s a rundown of the 24 active volcanoes in the Philippines:

Name of Volcano Province

Babuyan Claro

Babuyan Island Group, Cagayan in Luzon


Boundaries of Laguna and Quezon in Luzon

Biliran (Anas)

Leyte in Visayas

Bud Dajo

Sulu in Mindanao


Sorsogon, Bicol Region in Luzon


Southern Leyte in Visayas


Cagayan in Luzon

Camiguin de Babuyanes

Babuyan Island Group, Cagayan in Luzon


Babuyan Island Group, Cagayan in Luzon


Camiguin in Mindanao


Batan Island, Batanes in Luzon


Camarines Sur in Luzon


Camarines Sur in Luzon


Negros Oriental

Leonard Kniaseff

Davao del Norte


Lanao del Sur


Cotobato in Mindanao


Albay, Bicol Region in Luzon

Musuan (Calayo)

Bukidnon in Mindanao


South Cotobato/General Santos/ North Cotabato/Sarangani Provinces in Mindanao


Boundaries of Pampanga, Tarlac and Zambales in Luzon


Lanao del Sur and Cotobato in Mindanao


Babuyan Island Group, Cagayan in Luzon


Batangas in Luzon

The map of these volcanoes also appear below:

Credit belongs to : www.philstar.ca


Most drivers jobless amid partial resumption of jeepney operations — Piston

The Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board (LTFRB) has approved the partial resumption of operations …