Home / Philippine News / Rolando Uy proclaimed as Cagayan de Oro City mayor

Rolando Uy proclaimed as Cagayan de Oro City mayor

CAGAYAN DE ORO CITY – The City Board of Canvassers on Tuesday proclaimed Rolando ‘Klarex’ Uy as the duly-elected mayor here.

Rolando “Klarex” Uy (Photo courtesy of Rolando “Klarex” Uy facebook page) 

Uy, the incumbent representative in the city’s first district who ran under the National Unity Party (NUP), garnered 160,312 votes, good enough to beat Phividec Industrial Authority Administrator Jose Gabriel ‘Pompee’ La Viña of Lakas-Christian Muslim Democrats (CMD) party.

Uy thanked the supporters and voters for giving him a chance to lead the city and vowed to provide the best quality of public service to help the Kagay-anons.

“I would like to thank the people who supported me. Finally, it’s done and this is the time to go back to work as we need to serve the people,” Uy told reporters after he, alongside other winners, was proclaimed by Election Officer Atty. Rowell Valledor.

City Councilor Jocelyn Rodriguez, from Centrist Democratic Party of The Philippines (CDP), the running mate of La Viña, was also proclaimed as the duly-elected vice mayor in the city.

Rodriguez garnered 178,162 of votes to win over councilor Edna Dahino, the running mate of Uy.

Rodriguez also expressed her gratitude to the supporters and vowed to strengthen the programs of the city government that would be beneficial to the city residents.

“What will happen is we will prioritize the people. We will prioritize the needs of the people and we will strengthen our policy and programs in order to provide benefits to the people,” Rodriguez told reporters.

Uy and Rodriguez, meanwhile, both stressed that the relationship between the two top positions of the local government of Cagayan de Oro, for the next administration, will not be affected despite the political party differences.

On the other hand, Aga Suan, Roger Abaday, Jay Pascual, Imee Moreno, Romeo Calizo, George Goking, Jose Pepe Abu Jr. and Bernie Esparcia were also proclaimed elected city councilors for the first district.

Yvy Emano, Dr. Malou Gaane, Girlie Balaba, James Judith II, Ian Mark Nacaya, Edgar Cabanlas, Ian Achas, and Suzette Daba were the elected second district city councilors.

City councilor Lordan Suan had also been proclaimed as Congressman for the first district and Deputy Speaker Rufus Rodriguez as Congressman for the second district.

Credit belongs to : www.mb.com.ph

Check Also

Lakas-CMD elects new officers

Sara Duterte, Vice President of the Republic of The Philippines. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO THE political party …