Home / Philippine News / Tropical depression likely to enter PAR

Tropical depression likely to enter PAR

No ImageTHE tropical depression set to enter the Philippine Area of Responsibility (PAR) on Monday is unlikely to directly affect the country throughout its forecast period, the weather agency said on Sunday. 

The center of the new tropical depression outside PAR was estimated at 1,250 kilometers east of northeastern Mindanao.

Packing maximum sustained winds of 45 kilometers per hour (kph) near the center and gustiness of up to 55 kph, the tropical cyclone is moving west-northwestward at 15 kph, the weather bureau said.

“On the forecast track, it may enter PAR Monday morning and will be named ‘Queenie,'” it said.

Projected to remain as a tropical depression until Tuesday, it might weaken on Wednesday or Thursday.

In the next 12 hours, moderate to heavy rains might prevail in Zambales, Bataan, Aurora, Pangasinan, Batanes, and the northern portion of Cagayan including Babuyan Islands.

Meanwhile, Tropical Storm “Paeng” was already at the West Philippine Sea and is no longer a threat to the country. However, it might later become a severe tropical storm and likely to reach the typhoon category by Tuesday.

By Monday morning or afternoon, Paeng is expected to have left PAR, Pagasa said.

Signal No. 1 was hoisted in Luzon, including Metro Manila, Cagayan including Babuyan Islands, Isabela, Quirino, Nueva Vizcaya, Apayao, Abra, Kalinga, Mountain Province, Ifugao, Benguet, Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, La Union, Pangasinan, Aurora, Bulacan, Nueva Ecija, Tarlac, Pampanga, Bataan, Zambales, Metro Manila, the western and central portions of Batangas (San Nicolas, Calaca, Cuenca, Lian, Tuy, Balayan, Talisay, Agoncillo, San Pascual, Santo Tomas, Bauan, San Jose, Calatagan, San Luis, Lemery, Lipa City, Ibaan, City of Tanauan, Mabini, Mataasnakahoy, Alitagtag, Balete, Tingloy, Nasugbu, Batangas City, Laurel, Santa Teresita, Taal and Malvar), Cavite, Laguna, Rizal, the northwestern portion of Oriental Mindoro (San Teodoro, Puerto Galera and Baco), the northwestern portion of Occidental Mindoro (Abra de Ilog, Mamburao, Paluan and Santa Cruz) including Lubang Islands, and the northern portion of Quezon (General Nakar and Infanta).

Credit belongs to : www.manilatimes.net

Check Also

Zubiri releases list of 14 bills for approval of the President

The office of Senate President Juan Miguel Zubiri today, Thursday, March 23, released the list …